Carbon City – Superhero RPG

October 20th- Fame and Notoriety in Carbon City

For those of you following the development of my 1930’s Superhero rules here is the latest supplement.

It covers the sources and effects of being famous or notorious. From the Newspapers, Radio Stations and the Newsreels, to the Police Commissioners’ Public Enemy listing it shows how these can be manipulated to favour or destroy your heroes.

It also covers ADRA for the first time…

Fame & Notoriety in Carbon City

October 13th – Ordinary Villains in Carbon City

Our Heroes will often have to face determined men without superpowers. Here is a selection of off the peg ‘ordinary’ folk:

Masters, Minions and Mooks – Ordinary Villains

October 12th – The Mad, the Bad and the Ugly.

Here’s the first proper supplement for Carbon City, a selection of opponents for your heroes:

The Mad, the Bad and the Ugly – Super Villains in Carbon City

October 9th – Carbon City released!

Thanks to Pete Jones, who’s Super Simples RPG rules (available from the blog on Free Wargames Rules), set my little grey cells salivating, I have now produced my own version.

Unlike Pete’s, which is set in the modern era, mine cover the 1930’s – the so-called Golden Age of Comic Books. It runs on my Dead Simple engine, and in line with my current policy the main character creation, advancement and action rules cover just one side of A4.

Carbon City – 1930s One Page Superhero RPG Rules

I have also uploaded the setting, again in just one page:
“It is 1933. Prohibition is in full swing & Carbon City is slowly collapsing under the weight of corruption & a massive crime wave.
From this pressure cooker comes a band of costumed heroes to save the good people of the city from a fate worse than death.”

Black Days for Carbon City – Setting for CC Superhero RPG

The setting also has rules for Secret and Public Identities and Allies.

I am currently putting together a couple of one page supplements:
– Moguls, Minions and Mooks: Ordinary NPC’s for Carbon City.
– The Mad, the Bad and the Ugly: Super Villains in Carbon City.

I look forward to reading your feedback on these 🙂

Cheers,
Craig

8 Responses

  1. Hi Michael,

    You know I hadn’t thought of doing that? I’ll have a think over the weekend – you may have prompted me to begin Carbon City 2.0

    Thanks,
    Craig.

  2. Hi Craig,

    Just for fun, using the price list from the Improving Heroes section, I calculated (presuming I am still the master of 3rd grade arithmetic) how much it would cost to build one of the superheroic templates from the ground up:

    Captain: $25.250
    Magus: $12,500
    Rogue: $18,500
    Scientist: $18,000
    Mutant: $22,500

    Actually, it is even worse for the poor Magus. Every other category receives a Professional Ability-not the Magus.

    By the way, I hope that you will consider writing a supplement containing critters, monsters, and supernatural creatures that can be dropped into the various DS settings.

    Michael Callahan

  3. Hi Michael,

    1. In Carbon City, does the Magus begin with 5 spells and 1 power or 2 spells and 1 power
    I love people who help me edit my work. That is 2 Spells & 1 Power. The section should read:
    Magus: The master of magic, he starts with 2 spells of his choice in his spellbook. He is not good in combat & not very tough. $1,000 for equipment. Knowledge +1, 2 Spells & 1 Power

    2. Let’s say my superhero has Flight and Heavy Armor (an analogous situation applies to a Magus with the Dragon Skin and Float spells running concurrently). If walking he deducts 2 from his movement; if flying does he also deduct 2 from his movement?
    Good point. I would say your logic works with that one. This is why if you want to fly quickly in heavy armour you should buy a Rocket Pack 🙂

    3. Although the inference is pretty obvious, what exactly are the penalties inflicted on someone who is affected by the Blind spell?
    You cannot see obviously, which is not as glib an answer as it sounds. Imagine you are fighting a hero on the top of a partially built skyscraper, a classic location for a showdown. Now what sort of handicaps does being blind bring?

    One of the things people have to get used to with the DS range is that the rules provide guidance, it is up to the Games Master and players to actually roleplay the game. We have relied on extensive rules for far too long.

    Like you I am of an age where I can remember marching through dungeons with just three little, quite badly written, booklets to guide us. What wasn’t written we roleplayed and wasn’t that just fine?

    4. If an opponent is dazed by the Daze spell, does his inability to attack only apply to the Magus who cast the spell or to all of the villain’s opponents?
    All of them.

    I have a compulsion to overanalyze so I hope this doesn’t seem too nitpicky. On the other hand, when my friends write miniature or rpg rules they have me stupid-proof them, i.e., if someone can find a way to misinterpret or break the rules that person is me…what a gift.
    You are a natural editor and playtester, and that is a gift believe me. Rules writers like myself really ned people like you.

    I don’t know if you access Yahoo through web TV but there is a Yahoo Group called The Forge of War. It is where I and my merry band of writers, playtesters and editors hang out. You are welcome to come and join if you wish.

    Don’t ever stop asking questions. Already you’ve got me going over the rules and double-checking for other typos which helps everyone else too.

    Cheers,
    Craig.

  4. Hi Craig,

    I went to library today and printed-off everything DS related. My knowledge of the details of programming languages is non-existent, but I do know that although the newer models of WebTV are PDF compatible, the older version needs something a simple as HTML. I don’t know if it is really worth your while to extend your programming range to-or down to-the first WebTV machines but how can I not say anything but that it would be appreciated.

    At 63 years of age I know have the time to read Hero Games 6th Edition, although I really really don’t want to, which is why I’ve collected myriad rules-lite systems, e.g., TWERPS, Dungeon Squad, Microlite 20 and so many many more. What makes DS stand out for me is that its brevity and substantial intra-compatibility are bonuses, of course, but what I like most of all is the robustness and thoroughness of the system. I very much look forward to whatever new supplements and /or settings you publish for it.

    That said-and you probably knew this was coming-I do have a few questions, especially for the Magus category.

    1. In Carbon City, does the Magus begin with 5 spells and 1 power or 2 spells and 1 power?

    2. Let’s say my superhero has Flight and Heavy Armor (an analogous situation applies to a Magus with the Dragon Skin and Float spells running concurrently). If walking he deducts 2 from his movement; if flying does he also deduct 2 from his movement?

    3. Although the inference is pretty obvious, what exactly are the penalties inflicted on someone who is affected by the Blind spell?

    4. If an opponent is dazed by the Daze spell, does his inability to attack only apply to the Magus who cast the spell or to all of the villain’s opponents?

    I have a compulsion to overanalyze so I hope this doesn’t seem too nitpicky. On the other hand, when my friends write miniature or rpg rules they have me stupid-proof them, i.e., if someone can find a way to misinterpret or break the rules that person is me…what a gift.

    Thanks for any help you can provide.

    michael

  5. Thanks.
    Sorry for not replying earlier but you got dumped in the spam bin by the WordPress System, and I’ve just dug you out.
    Let me know how it goes.
    Cheers,
    Craig.

  6. Hi Michael,

    Despite Carbon City having been downloaded over 400 times now you are the first to comment – thank you 🙂

    Carbon City does indeed use the Dead Simple Engine, and the rest of the series are compatible to a degree.

    Tell me, what formats does Web TV support because I can easily publish conversions in Word 2003 or 2007? I can even try to do a conversion to Open Office, though that will have to wait until the weekend.

    Also note that many of the DS releases come out on the Forge of War Yahoo Group first, where the FoW rules developer community kick my ass to improve things 😉

    I hope that this helps.

    Cheers,
    Craig.

  7. Dear Craig,

    I’ve just downloaded the rules for Carbon City-great title, by the way-and have belatedly discovered the existence of the Dead Simple RPG systems (yes, in my time I was one of those kids who didn’t finish reading the instructions when he was taking a test, which explains a lot about my subsequent life). My version of WebTV doesn’t support the downloading of PDF files, so I had to go to the library to do print-out the Carbon City material. What I want to know is Carbon City part of the DS RPG series or is it incompatible? If the former, I’ll be returning to the library tomorrow, if not, I just want to say how impressed I am with Carbon City! Thanks for any clarification you can provide.

    sincerely,
    Michael Callahan

  8. Now I want to play this after reading all about it!

Leave a Reply

